We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Source of Joy

by Robert Jürjendal

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €6 EUR  or more

    You own this


  • buy Compact Disc

Rainsong 05:30
Aeronaut 02:00
February Sun 05:09
Asteroids 00:53
The Cotter 06:30


„The music tells us how it should sound!“

This album is produced as one whole story divided into thirteen individual musical pictures. Assembling this work took almost three full years. Many ideas have been recorded at locations as diverse as hotel room, home, garden and even sauna. Some of these recordings were originally a simple loops which later were used as creative motors for an expanded writing /recording/production process. In the end, some of these loops, having done their job, were removed from the final pieces and are not heard at all.

The aesthetic position of the album lies somewhere between contemporary classical, ambient, rock and soundscape music. As in his previous works, Robert pays close attention to the beauty of melodic and harmonic structure in his compositions.

"Situations came up where I started to improvise, but later I chose a new arrangment with new instruments and sounds while holding on to the form of the improvisation, it is a total process, not a linear one."


released June 1, 2013

Arvo Urb, Estonian drummer and producer, a member of the legendary Estonian prog – rock band In Spe, Robert’s bandmate for a long time in Fragile also a member of the project This Fragile Moment (featuring Toyah Willcox, Markus Reuter, Chris Wong and Robert Jürjendal)
Madis Metsamart - percussionist in the Estonian State Symphonic Orchestra
Aleksei Saks – corno da caccia player, member of the duo UMA (with Robert Jürjendal)
Riho Sibul – well-known Estonian guitarist and songwriter, Robert’s duo-mate for many years
Anti Jürjendal – young cello player, Robert’s son.
Lotte Jürjendal – singer and artist, Robert’s daughter
Andi Pupato – percussionist and a sound artist, a co-member of UMA , longtime member of Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin
Geoff Leigh – flute player, a legendary improviser, a member of the group Ex-Wise Heads, member of Henry Cow

The album was recorded in Estonia at Martix Studio and Next Door Studio between Jan-Feb. 2012. Mixed by Arvo Urb and Robert Jürjendal between Sept 2012 – Jan 2013. Mastered by Andi Pupato in March 2013, Zürich, Switzerland


all rights reserved



iapetus Berlin, Germany

The official and direct outlet for Anchor and Burden, Kid Arrow, Stick Men, Markus Reuter, Frédéric L'Epee, Moonbound, centrozoon, Bernhard Wöstheinrich, Lee Fletcher and many more.

contact / help

Contact iapetus

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account